the adventures of traveling through Europe for two months with three boys, a tight budget and a desire to eat drink and live the life of a European
Tuesday, June 7, 2011
Monaco and more....... So We went to Monaco because when you come to the south of France you just have to see that. It's pretty amazing, but personally I've had enough of super rich towns. jimmy paid nine euro for one beer. That is enough said about that. We left Monaco and headed for our first camp on Italy. It is very close to Monaco. It was so interesting, to come out of a tunnel and be in another country.We stopped for gas, and everything was different. The language entirely different of course, and we know NO Italian. The French are so calm when they talk. Everything is understated and flows like a gentle river. The Italian is opposite. Lively and loud and flowing more like a roller coaster. The clothing and architecture is different too.High heels galore. I am talking serious stilettos,and this was at the gas station, not Milan. We love italy. Grocery shopping is so fun here. The seasonings and pasta and quality of meat and vegetables. AMAZING! Last night I made a yummy dinner with all my finds. We have some of our best times sitting in our trailer with our cooked dinners just chatting. We are all so relaxed and end up having great laughs and conversations. JImmie loved my sauce so much last night that he huddled with the boys and had them massage me while he did the dishes. Man that must have been some good sauce. So sweet. I have the best husband. As I was laying their on my stomach, having my back and feet rubbed I said" I think I have gone to heaven" Tristan who was working on my feet said" yah but I think your feet have gone to hell" referring to my callouses. Before long they were singing I like big butts and I cannot lie. I'm afraid to say what their inspiration was. We went to meeting yesterday. I didn't understand a word, but we all loved it. The congregation all sang so loud and lovely. The warmth was just what you would imagine of italy. I absolutely love this culture. I think everyone in that kingdom hall came up and tried to talk to us. They were so beautiful and loving. They do the side hug kiss on the cheek thing, I can't get it right. I still hug like a hamburger, straight from the front and wrap my arms around like buns grabbing the patty. With this said, I ended up head butting a few people and accidentally ended up kissing their mouth instead of cheeks. Good thing Italians have a sense of humor. Well Internet has been hard to find. Hope to find some today, got to get in touch with Annika. We think she's coming after all, and were so excited. We all miss her sooo. We actually miss all our friends and family very much. Hugs and kisses to you all.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment