Sunday, May 15, 2011

Paris with the boys....

today we took the boys into Paris. the family were staying with lives right above a train station in this really cool apartment. we first went to notredam. we all were sort of creeped out by it. They had the organs playing Dracula music. Very interestIng to observe. then we headed to the louve we decided not to go in because we figured the kids were to museumed out to go in today. we hung out in the Latin quArter and ate crepes. did tons of walking,I should come home skinny from this trip but I'm afraid all the walking can't keep up with bread and beer. I'm amazed that the French people have the tiniest washing machines and no clothes dryers. Ludivic reminded me though that French people are skinny so it doesn't require much room to wash their clothes.
the subways in Paris are stinkier than I remember. Cole has a hard time with the smells and the realization of so many germs around him. On the subway home tonight it was very squished and buisy. I had Cole and Brock on a chair and I was standing next to them. Across from them was this really gross drunk fat man. He kept falling asleep and I was terrified he was going to fall right on the boys or worse yet puke on them. Just as he was really heading for them like a cross eyed round sailor, a kind ghetto sort of guy grabbed his backpack and pulled him back in his seat. I will forever be great full to that guy, as I was so useless and having a panic attack that I don't think I would have dine anything but wAtch as that gross man squashed my beloved children. Cole would never have forgiven me.
I am so impressed with Cole. I told him how it's important to try to speak French as much as possible to have good manners. He has really taken that to heart, and try's so hard. He says mercy over and over and gets so many smiles. Brock is loving taking pictures. They all love the French friends we are with. I can tell that is a highlight for them.
I'm anxious to get to the country. I am really not a city girl. but I am having a beat time. Until next time... Aurvoir!

5 comments:

  1. awww it feels like im there!! ludovic sounds awesome! i think we get so used to everyting big here in us, but its not alway better....soooo good for the kids to se and experience all this!! hugs n love

    ReplyDelete
  2. And unlike Americans they only have one small refrigerator. Maybe small appliances are the key to being skinny?

    ReplyDelete
  3. And birth control if I had that tiny wash machine I would make darn sure to not have anybmore children who are little laundry makers

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thinking if you guys and hope your safe and having a blast. Can't wait to read your next blog. Love you and hugs and kisses from me and uncle Chris.

    ReplyDelete